Finger foods 6-8 months…With a celiac in the family!

Being a 20 year old mother to an almost 8 month old, I feel I am watched like a hawk. I was 19 when I gave birth and from day 1 I had older ladies sticking their noses up at me because to them, I was a typical “Teen Mother”.

Personally, for me, this made me more determined to be a rock star mummy! And just last week, my parents and younger brother flew to Tokyo and we all stayed there.

I started Greyson on solids at 4 months with the doctors go ahead, as he had already doubled his birth weight, and was a hungry boy! And as soon as he hit 6 months he started finger foods. I get nervous he will choke so we did “Mum Mums” (Rusks) for a while, and within the last 4 weeks we have introduced Cucumber sticks, which he ADORES. Now most people would be giving eggs and slices of toast, I wish I could. My husband has celiac so we are avoiding flour as much as possible! So for all these mummy’s doing the same, what do you give baby?

Greyson’s food consists of:

  • Gerber Tomato sticks (graduates)
  • Gerber Apple Wagon Wheels (Graduates)
  • Cucumber Sticks
  • Gerber jarred meat/fruits/smoothies

He has also tried things such as rice, broccoli florets and sausage meat, and everything this boy eats, he loves.

Once a week maximum, he also has some milky bar chocolate drops and Kindr Bueno Chocolate. Just like his mama, he is a choco-holic.

And now my monkey will turn 8 months on Saturday, and I will slowly introduce cheese and lunch meat, and of course some more veggies!

What do you little ones eat? Do you plan on introducing flour before 1?

So, what do you think?

